Home > Fangirlism, otaku, Real Life > (Nendoroid) Yako Katsuragi

(Nendoroid) Yako Katsuragi

December 19, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

There’s a reason why I don’t really buy figurines. Because I know I won’t stop once I’ve started. =_= Unfortunately, my heart just couldn’t resist the lovely Nendoroids . There is something irresistible about these chibi figurines. -grins- Granted, not all of them are great, but most of them are just so damn adorable! They just make me squee!

One particular nendoroid caught my eye and it was none other than Yako Katsuragi, from Majin Tantei Nougami Neuro . I liked the anime and Yako, mostly due to her personality which is something akin to mine. -lol- I had the impression that the series wasn’t that popular, but looking up google and the likes, it seems that I had misjudged it. Anyway, I totally love the cute chibi version of Yoako!!

Getting my hands on one was the tricky part, because nendoroids are rather famous for being hard to get after the pre-order period has passed. Which sucked because I only caught on the wave recently, and Yako had been in the market for quite a while already.

So it was by sheer luck, that when I went to KKnM (local anime shop that most fans go to for merchandise), and found the figure for sale. The strange thing is that I was so concern asking Sharon, the shop owner, about getting my paws on Yako, that I totally missed the fact that the figurine was totally sitting in my line of vision. The conversation was something like:

Me: Do you have any of the older Nendoroids for sale?

Sharon: Erm… not really, they tend to get sold out once they have been released.

Me: Damn… I really want one of them.

Sharon: Well, which one did you want?

Me: The Majin Tantei Nougami Neuro one… (It was a bloody mouthful to get the whole title right.)

Sharon: Ah… -turns around and reaches for the figurine box- I only have Yako…

Me: OMG! That’s the one I want!! -goes all fangirly before grabbing the box-

-the end-

The conversation went on about how fun it is to play with Nendoroids because they have changeable features. I was surprise that the price wasn’t as high as I had expected (my friend promptly told me that it could have been cheaper if bought when released, but hell, at least I managed to get my paws on one!!)

-lol- And I think my first comment as I examined the figure from the box was, “Ah… upskirt shot”. -sweatdrop-

And of course, I took pictures as I fooled around with Yako. Unfortunately, it was taken with my digital camera under lousy lighting. I wished I had borrowed the D200 SLR from my roomie, then I can immediately take better photographs under such crappy situations. Oh well, will have to make do with these pictures in the meanwhile…

compile

I fear that I have started on an unstoppable path of financial doom as I can’t help but anticipate the purchase of more figurines like Louise from Zero no Tsukaima. -sigh-

On another note, I have been making Christmas presents, and here’s a sample of what I have done so far:

p1020493

It’s a cute kingyo handphone/camera pouch. I used Japanese Yukata fabric and the cloth used for my TTB cosplay as the inner lining. =D It looks surprising good. Hee. I went wild today when I was at the textile shop because of all the pretty Japanese patterns. Too bad my workmanship is still pretty shaky.

  1. December 28, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    wow, you’re a girl too? 😄 welcome to the dark side of buying nendoroids lol

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

