Home > Real Life > (Gadgets) Sebby sells seashells on the seashore

(Gadgets) Sebby sells seashells on the seashore

September 13, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

01

Just bought a new netbook at Comex. Singapore has massive IT fairs all four quarters of the year to cater to the technology hungry population. They usual last the whole weekend (thursday – sunday) and having thousands of people flocking to the event, hoping to score a deal. According to online research (aka Hardwarezone), the best times to visit an IT fair is at its beginning and ending. On day one, most of the vendors will be stocked up with the hottest products on offer, making it easy to pick up products without having to fight the weekend crowd and worry about the items running out of stock. The last day is for bargain hunters who will be able to snap up old stock that the vendors are desperate to let go at low low prices.

I’m not fond of crowds so I went on Thursday to check out the deals for a netbook. My lovely Macbook Pro is still hale and hearty, but weighs a tonne. It’s battery life has also dwindled to nothingness and buying a new battery would cost a bomb. Thus, I was thinking of picking up a lightweight pc so that I could bring it around town. I originally wanted a netbook from Lenovo, HP or MSI. But when I got the chance to prowl the grounds and check out the quarry on display, I fell in love with the Eee PC seashell. Like a foolish moth to a flame, I kept drifting back to the Asus booths and finally decided to committed Eee PC 1005-HA (Seashell).

The netbook was priced at $699 and came with a free external dvd drive.  Since I paid by NETS, there was a free ram upgrade to 2gb and came with a keyboard protector too! There was also some lucky dip thing where I got two UP t-shirts (not great quailty, but just right to wear during ceramics class and not worry about ruining clothes. ^^). Overall, it was a decent deal. I went around checking out the prices at different dealers and some wanted an additional $69 for the ram upgrade!

03

I also hooked it up with a mobile broadband plan from Starhub. Their services have improved over the years and I love the fact that they reward long term subscribers. After getting my netbook, I popped over to the Starhub service center next to my house and updated all my services. Renewed cable, mobile, broadband services and signed up for the mobile broadband. I also got a new Sony Erisson handphone to replace my psychotic Sams*** phone. It was an extra $48 to get the phone but the customer service officer that processed my new services was nice and waived the cost (he redeemed a $50 voucher somehow). Forgot to take any pictures of the usb modem thingie. =x

02

Traditionally, I have always named my gadgets. =) And this time, I’ve decided to call my lovely netbook “Sebastian” after the akuma butler from Kuroshitsuji.

Isn’t the name just perfect?

  1. zh3us
    September 13, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    eeeSebby >_< wherecha get it from? 4th floor? or 6th floor?

    • September 13, 2009 at 11:23 pm

      4th floor! Too lazy to climb to the 6th floor =P

  2. September 14, 2009 at 12:27 am

    Would so love to clam a particular petit nendoroid in your Sebastian.

    • September 14, 2009 at 12:42 am

      -lol- And which unfortunate puchii will that be?

  3. September 14, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    o0o0o shiny, good as a base for pantsu figure shots as well :3 congrats! and nice freebies/upgrades.

    • September 14, 2009 at 2:06 pm

      LOL. I didn’t think of that! Good idea! =P

  4. September 14, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    YAY for Sony Erisson! ^^ which one u get? 😀

    • September 14, 2009 at 9:44 pm

      C510. ^^ It’s pearl white with nice red strips. =)

  5. kodomut
    September 16, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    This baby comes next meet up. Will send you the email to forward tonight to everyone when I get some mooncakes for the header ^^;

    • September 16, 2009 at 3:50 pm

      Roger that!!

  6. scorchnroses
    September 16, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    The netbook looks good :3
    Wants to change my dying computer but still considering whether to change Mac or Windows 7 D:

    • kodomut
      September 17, 2009 at 9:21 am

      Mac if you can afford it ^^

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

