Home > Real Life > (Dailybits) East to West

(Dailybits) East to West

September 21, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

The great thing about have a point-n-shoot is that it’s easy to whip it out and take some quick snapshots when the sudden burst of inspiration occurs. Of course, I’ve to credit  Nendoroid Puchi (Nendochi) Yuki Nagato for being a readily available model.
Photobucket

So what is Nendochi Yuki looking at?

Photobucket

She’s looking out from the food court windows of Tampines One. And in the picture above, you can see both a MRT station and bus interchange.

In Singapore, the standard colour for public buses are red with a dash of white and purple, while the trains are just white with a touch of red. And together with a portion of the Taxi industry, they all fall under the care of SMRT. Compared to other countries, local public transport is cheap and you can travel from one end of the country to the other under S$2 (if you take the train). Which is what I do each week. ^^”

Photobucket

I stay in Tampines, which is a HDB estate that is in the extreme East of Singapore. The picture above is an example of the types of HDB blocks that are pepper around our tiny island and houses majority of our population. However, I’m currently studying in Jurong which is on the other extreme end from where I stay!! Fortunately, I stay in the school hostels during the week. But during the weekend,  I make a “Journey to the West” so I can spend some time at home with my family.

Photobucket

But before embarking on my epic journey back to the halls, I need to have some food! And here, is a picture of a local dish (?) called “小碗面” which literally translates to “little bowl of noodles”. It is “mee pok”, the flat yellow noodles, in mushroom and vinegar sauces together with a mini-wok of soup filled with ingredients like fishballs, pork bits and egg etc.

Photobucket

And after the 1 1/2hr journey, I’m in Jurong point (the mall next to Boon Lay MRT station) with  Nendochi Yuki, who is guarding my Mocha ice-blended from Coffee Bean, as I type this post from the said cafe.

Photobucket

As I previously neglected to give my mobile broadband modem any credit, here’s a picture of the usb dongle. The sheep above is Shirley, from Shaun the Sheep.  And the blurry paddle-like thing is actually has an image of Alice from Aria, dangling from Maa-kun.  Both are prizes from Gashapon Machines which I have an irresistible attraction to (but that’s a topic for another day). I attached the dangling thingies to the cap of my USB dongle, as I have a high tendency to lose tiny things. ^^

I think it’s time for me to wrap this post up and start on my Literature essay. =) Till next time. -Dcal

  1. September 21, 2009 at 2:59 pm

    I wish I had a mobile broadband and a netbook.

    Nice photos and I like beverages from Coffee Bean and Starbucks! Pricey though.

    • September 21, 2009 at 3:05 pm

      =P I’ll totally addicted to the flexibility that mobile bb and the Netbook provides.

      I wouldn’t have been spending my time at cafes in the past because I’m too cheap to pay for the expensive coffee, but now i feel that it’s worth it as i get a comfortable, air-conditioned environment to chill while doing work… or suppose to be doing work. =)

  2. zh3us
    September 21, 2009 at 11:22 pm

    Good luck on your quest on becoming a teacher! “Don’t let the sec sch !#%!#@s know ur blog” ^^; Hey i travel from Serangoon to Clementi 2 times everyday. 1.5hour ride…

    • September 21, 2009 at 11:28 pm

      -lol- Note the lack of details of my occupation on my broggu? =P Hopefully my future students won’t hunt me down and steal my Nendoroids.

  3. ScorchNRoses
    September 22, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    Lol I didn’t know you make such long journeys so often. I don’t think your future students will steal your nendoroids or petites unless they are like me >;D

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

